teena marie, the square biz pisces.

29 Dec

teena marie rode on her voice through the heart of pisces, those glittery cerulean fish who though, parted upstream and down on their glyph, do know where they are going as one.  even when they don’t know it yet.  they are born burdened and enlightened. water is their best friend, the goddess and god splayed out over the land unencumbered, free.  pisces are poets. again, even if they don’t know it, yet. mired in the music of their subconscious, their minds functioning as harps, flutes and reeds, those people smile and survive in their flesh, longing for ideals and abracadabras and lifestyles of the shrewd and lavish.  while pretty diamond things are their preferred possessions and mental states, they can drop pincers from their scales of harmony.  i assume this is how teena marie rose to fame and kept herself afloat in that underworld of the american music industry’s trammel of hiphop and r&b.  lalalalalalalalaaaaaaaaaaaaaa is a verb for a pisces soul. up high and up low.  lalalalalaaaaa.  they swing.  teena marie scatted and vroomed motown beats. she coerced the people to party to impossible poetry on the radio:

You know I love spirituals and rock
Sarah Vaughn, Johann Sebastian Bach
Shakespeare, Maya Angelou
And Nikki Giovanni just to name a few
Well, I’m wild and peaceful Lady Tee
I got to keep my irons in the fire, you see
I got the point, the scam, the low, the deal
What you feel, say what

Flash back, who’s that? from square biz

no one else has been able to spirit that level of triple sentiment of legends, rebellion, and eminence beneath frenzied lights on a dance floor. on december twenty-first i associated ms. teena with the lunar eclipse, an occurrence not to be witnessed nor felt again for a real long while.  i see her in all her tones like that unknowable moon.  i’m sure she rolls now unbound, no longer detained by time frames. alternating her selves in sepia. she can run. she can drift. visit here. rock on another planet. she can roam with us, still and be alone.  feelin like a saxophone. in 2009 she recorded an album titled, congo square. a single, can’t last a day, featuring faith is my favorite. teena is timeless despite her lapses in recording and departure from earth.  she was truly here with such an exquisite command of words, knowledge and understanding of how to sow instinctual biorhythms underneath sincere e flats and clefs of chart climbing physics.

If the sun in the sky disappeared from view
And the love in my heart baby wasn’t true
If the rivers and seas all just up and dry
If the moon pass away from the deep blue sky
If I lost all my faith in the Higher Power
Tell me where would I be in the final hour
I’ll be losing my way baby I’d be through
Cause I can’t last a day honey without you

-from can’t last a day

in lousiana’s congo square where laid back oracles convene to show off astral skills, dance, and speak the ghost’s messages, warnings, and jokes, teena marie may have just invoked the strategist queen, marie laveau. there, in the round, behind a groove, on the curve of the moon swimming in the deep blue sky, madame marie stirred her intentions through the needle on the record like her sisters who sewed camouflaged freedom signs into elaborate quilt squares. woman. craft. from time immemorial i’ve always believed the message in the music reigns as the storyteller’s most clever method.  the message in all of its pre dynastic orality is simply love.  teena marie sang for love, to love, about love and inspired spirit possession, or at the very least the false yet sweet notion that i could sing.  so in my mirror i sing, vanilla clove candle burning citrus lemon, a blue glass of water above me to my right, seeing as perfect that her first record was backed by the foamy vocals of the sea, thankful that lula knew i’d understand and posted for me. i believe ms. teena is playing her piano, her guitar, watching and yearning for her daughter in the nebulous realm of the spirit world tapping her finger to her temple saying, yea, i’ve been here before.

(Déjà vu) – I’ve been here before

I’m young and I’m old
I’m rich and I’m poor
I feel like I’ve been on this earth many times before
Once I was a white Gazelle
On horse back riding free
Searching in the darkness for a piece of me

I can feel this for sure
I’ve been here before
I can fell this for sure for sure
I’ve been here before

I used to be a queen you know
In a island by the sea
With rainbow colored people
Happy as can be
Never had a problem
There never was a care
& Love was ever flowing and its feeling shared

& I can feel this for sure…ooh
I’ve been here before
I can feel this for sure
For sure for sure
For sure for sure
Oh I’ve been here before
Yes I have
I can feel it
I can feel it…ooh
In my heart I feel it

The soul feels like the Universe
It’s vast and never ends
Stars to me are the Children
Babies are my friends
God is like a galaxy
Within my spirit flies
Felt this way a million times
Please don’t ask me why

The question of my lifetime
If you ask my point of view
They say it all was Karma
Call it Déjà vu
Call it Déjà vu
Call it Déjà vu
Call it Déjà vu
Call it Déjà vu
And I can feel this for sure
I’ve been here before
And I can feel…. this for sure
I’ve been here before
I’ve been here before
I can feel it

I’m young and I’m old
I’m rich and I’m poor
I feel like I’ve been on this earth many times before
Once I was a white Gazelle
On horse back riding free
Searching in the darkness for a piece of me

I used to be a queen you know
In a island by the sea
With rainbow colored people
Happy as can be
There never was a problem
There never was a care
& Love was ever flowing and its feeling shared

And I can feel this for sure
For sure for sure
For sure for sure
I’ve been here before
I swear It
I can feel this for sure
I’ve been here before

If hate is on your mind
& you can’t give love the time
If anger if your friend
don’t know when you die you’ll come back again
& In the master’s plan…
You’ll come back woman or man
If your life is full of sin…
don’t you know when you die you’ll come back again!
I thank God… thank God…thank God…
I am not coming back no more!!
I’ve been here before…
thank God…thank God…thank God!
(I don’t want to come back no more!)

~Teena Marie~


One Response to “teena marie, the square biz pisces.”

  1. Sai Hall December 29, 2010 at 3:16 am #

    BEAUTIFUL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

